Testimonials & Reviews

(From Google, Trip Advisor & Expedia)

Jaco Five Stars

This hotel is an incredible Costa Rica beach resort located in Jaco. The resort is the perfect place for a relaxing, quiet vacation. The amenities are first class, and the Jaco Laguna staff are helpful and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend this resort to friends and family. It is a family-friendly resort with plenty of outdoor activities to explore like surfing and horseback riding. Highly recommended!

William
3/13/2019

Perfect location on beautiful beach!! Clean, resort, sturdy, attractive wooden furniture & comfortable bed. Breakfast choices could be improved.

Expedia reviewer
3/09/2019

The view from the handcrafted rocking chairs immediately outside our room was magnificent!! The beach, palm trees, swimmers and surfers made for interesting viewing. The entire resort is clean, and filled with quality furnishings.

TripAdvisor Reviewer
3/08/2019

The bed was really soft. I would love to see them.upgrade the mattress to something that i wont sink into. But overall excellent place. Staff is wonderful

Expedia reviewer
3/08/2019

We loved this place!! The view from the handcrafted rocking chairs immediately outside our room was magnificent!! The beach, palm trees, swimmers and surfers made for interesting viewing. The entire resort is clean, and filled with quality furnishings. The staff is very helpful. We did not find the bathroom to be too small. This really is a hidden gem on Jaco Beach! Early morning beach walks are a necessity!

Lallyvida
3/08/2019

This is the 2nd time staying in this intimate resort! Right on the beach south end of Jaco Costa Rica. Quiet but close enough if you want to go into town. Nice pool and Tikki Bar perfect for the Amazing sunsets! Simple rooms but exceptionally clean. Love it here so much!!

TripAdvisor Reviewer
2/22/2019

Best kept secret in Jaco Beach This is the 2nd time staying in this intimate resort! Right on the beach south end of Jaco Costa Rica. Quiet but close enough if you want to go into town. Nice pool and Tikki Bar perfect for the Amazing sunsets! Simple rooms but exceptionally clean. Love it here so much!!

Vacation756555
2/20/2019

This is the 2nd year I visited Jaco Laguna Resort. 5 stars. Very clean, super quiet, relaxing, great pool. Resort is the perfect distance from town, as to be quiet at night, but just a one minute drive to downtown. I highly recommend this resort. We stay for 10 days each year, everyday we find a new activity that is close to the resort. There is surfing, horseback riding, ATV’s. Fishing, WATERFALLS !!! All nearby.

Bret Lohnes
2/19/2019

Staff were fantastic - so helpful with things to do outside the resort. Location was great as well.. -Mini fridge in the room would have been great and more English TV stations.

Linda
2/15/2019

+Está frente a la playa y las instalaciones son bonitas.. -El colchón de una de las camas se hundía en el centro, por lo que era un poco incómodo.

Cristina
2/15/2019

I just got back from this great resort again and I laugh at some of the reviews I read. I have visited just about every hotel in town and this place is way better than the rest. They just recently remodeled and also added live music a few …

TripAdvisor Reviewer
2/15/2019

This hotel is right on the beach! Lovely place. I would definitely return.

Linda
2/15/2019

+Lo cerca del mar. -Nada

Marco
2/15/2019

+Todo estuvo perfecto, la ubicación es excelente, en un lugar de la playa donde no se llena tanto, la piscina genial aunque no tiene mucha sombra. Todo …...-No hay sombra en la piscinaRead more on Booking.com

Maria
2/15/2019

Really nice place to stay for Costa Rica on a budget, walk out the back and your on the beach that goes for miles, no refrigerator in the room, but they have tiki bar that’s open late.

mick miller surfboards
2/15/2019

Exelente.. sitio... muy bueno

Sergio Serrano
2/15/2019

Amazing fun place I just got back from this great resort again and I laugh at some of the reviews I read. I have visited just about every hotel in town and this place is way better than the rest. They just recently remodeled and also added live music a few times a week, I was there last Saturday and they had about 250 people there enjoying the music and eating the high quality food they serve. I had fresh tuna as all their fish is fresh daily and it was outstanding. This hotel should be number one on trip adviser. I will never stay anyplace else when in Jaco. The Tiki bar is fabulous.

jerrysolebury
2/13/2019

Great Stay A wonderful place tucked away on the south end of the beach away from the main part of Jaco but still within walking distance or short cab ride to the centre of town. Room was great with two king sized beds. The only thing that would have been nice, would have been a fridge. Room was clean and quiet. An in-room safe was a great feature as well. The only negative thing was the laundry service. Clothes were returned still quite damp, only a few items folded and very dingy (did not seem clean at all but did smell nice) and the price was astronomical. $40 US for two small bags. I would have much preferred to have had the option to do my own laundry. The food was amazing. We ate almost all our breakfasts and suppers there. Never had a single thing we didn't like. Drinks at the Tiki bar were awesome as well. An easy walk from hotel to El Miro lookout (ask at desk about this one) and also the Jaco lookout along the highway. The staff is more than happy to set up tours etc. Many Scarlet Macaws are seen nearby. Surf lessons available just outside the property.

NORTHERNGIRL588
2/11/2019

Chapo and the instructors had all our kids up and riding the waves after lessons. Other folks didn't have the same results. The tiki staff also make a amazing smoothie. All so friendly and genuine. Thank you we will be back.

Layne Hrycyk
1/29/2019

+Perfect location and very nice staff. Charming hotel that felt very familiar.

Charlotta
1/15/2019

+Tutto a parte il servizio mare. No lettini free.. -No lettini in spiaggia free.

Gabe
1/15/2019

Family vac We ended our 2 weeks trip in CR with 5 days in Jaco. Perfect relaxing beach hotel with great possibilities to surfing, zipline horseriding etc.
The staff was very friendly, surroundings beautiful and cosy and the best location on the beach. The food was great, could take some time to get it served though. New year was amazing with bonfire and marshmallows for the kids before they went to bed.
Very familiar and friendly. We travelled with 3 children aged 5-12 and we definitely recommend it to everybody coming to CR for a some days sunbathing on the south side 🙂 We hope to come back!

charlottalottaberg
1/04/2019

Great Vacation and Great Experience Had a great time at this hotel...great food...very clean..great customer service, and tha Manager Lillian was great to me and my family...wanna thank her very much We will be back next year same time

Ish908
12/28/2018

Nice place!
We stayed next to Laguna in a rental home (can't comment on the rooms) and the staff were always welcoming with great appetizers, entrees and drinks. Wonderful breakfast. They rent surf and boogie board right out front on the beach-very affordable. We got massages there and it was awesome.

Erik Felch
12/26/2018

5 star ratingFab accom Stayed here for 5 days and cannot fault it. Right on the beach where we were able to enjoy surfing lessons. Absolutely fabulous food and staff couldn't have been more helpful. The manager/owner Jason is such a friendly guy and was able to offer lots of advice on where to visit etc. Beds were more comfy than my bed at home. Would definitely recommend this accom to anyone. If you want to be in the thick of the partying scene you may want to get somewhere more central to Jaco city but being just on the outskirts suited us perfectly.

Charlotte W
12/15/2018

5 star ratingGreat customer service! We stayed here 5 nights. At first we were in room #7. It felt like a cave and
I could hear children playing with their toys right above our heads. So I asked for a different room at the desk and the nice girl gave us the key to #15 to check it out first. We switched to that room, it was big and had a good size bathroom, comfortable bed and pillows. Love the coffee in the room only wish there were mini refrigerators. The food was excellent, good sized portions and great prices. Better than eating in town. Really appreciated the owner taking some time to introduce himself and make sure our stay was enjoyable. The location is perfect, it was quiet yet close to everything. and the beach area was beautiful.

Jennifer S
12/13/2018

5 star ratingWe would Definitely go back! We live in CR & have been traveling to several areas in CR & know what’s good & bad. This is a great little place no matter what anyone says. Mom & Pop Hotel & very relaxed in low season. Great owners & staff. Very plain, simple rooms but quiet, comfortable, & very clean. It has a few cats on the property that keep the mice & other critters away. It’s on the south end of Jaco so away from the chaos of the city & a long walk into town, shorter walk on the beach. The food was pretty good, esp dinner. The beach & lagoons were very clean. In High Season, or CR Holidays, there can be a lot of trash, Sad, but it’s a developing country with many very poor people & people are learning to s-l-o-w-l-y clean up after themselves, everywhere here. Don’t take anything valuable or leave anything on the beach. Keep in mind, CR is a Jungle with bugs, birds, critters & volcanoes. Many beaches here have dark sand & rocks. Ck the tide charts because at low tide, the beach is smooth sand & at high tide, you can’t see the sharp rocks under the water. I never go barefoot on any beach, anywhere. Jaco can be a Sketchy place @ night, so start early & enjoy this beautiful country.

NYE2015
12/11/2018

Amazed. Excellent location, beautiful place overall, the rooms are super roomy, the beach is right outside, food was delicious and well priced for being a hotel, the staff was very friendly and the pool is perfect. Only draw back was that pools were dirty the 2 days we were there. The rooms were also very well priced.

Diego Leon
12/02/2018

5 star ratingParadise!! I just stayed at the resort for a week and it was a great experience. The resort is about a mile south of all the craziness of downtown Jaco. It’s a two minute cab ride to get to the action but you will enjoy the bliss. The resort is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The Tiki bar is a great spot to watch the sunsets and the beach is right in front of you. There is an outdoor massage casita and you can get surfing lessons right on location. Highly recommended!

MikePare
11/24/2018

Great hotel ! Despite some bad reviews, my friend and I had a great stay at Jaco Laguna. The service was friendly, rooms clean and comfortable. The beach access is incredible, with a nice pool. The tiki bar was an added plus. Would definitely come back here, and wish we had stayed longer.

Plus- the surf school on site is amazing and reasonably priced !

miller5328
11/05/2018

5 star ratingHermoso hotel y atención de primera. Es un hotel hermoso, acogedor, de excelente calidad, habitaciones muy cómodas y la ubicación en la playa es ideal para poder disfrutar con tranquilidad, además la comida es deliciosa y su persona muy amable.

KimberlyE463
10/03/2018

5 star ratingTrato genial El trato que recibimos fue muy bueno en todos los detalles que tuvieron con nosotros. El primer día pedimos una nevera y a los 10 minutos la teníamos instalada en la habitación, nos resolvieron todo lo referido con las excursiones, haciendo llamadas e informandonos y el último día nos dejaron quedarnos en la habitación hasta la hora de comer.. para repetir! Nada malo que decir!

Alba L
8/15/2018

5 star ratingTop hotel mooi aan het strand Heerlijke bedden, mooie ligging direct aan het strand, zeer vriendelijk personeel. Ook bij onze aankomst ‘s avonds konden onze natte spullen nog gewassen worden.
Mooi zwembad en fijn strand. Bedden hebben heerlijke matrassen. Ook mogelijkheid om te eten en een drankje te nemen.

Marloes v
8/10/2018

Ellen My family stayed at Jaco Laguna Resort and Beach Club for several days and we had a wonderful time. We’ve stayed at the resort several times and would go nowhere else when visiting in Jaco! Everything was perfect - the staff was very friendly and responsive, the food was great and the setting is beautiful. We range in age from 3 to 72 and in style from vegan to hamburger lovers and we all couldn’t have been happier. I would highly recommend this resort to anyone.

ellensue379
7/18/2018

5 star ratingGreat For Couples Tucked away at the quiet end of the beach with great security. The pool area and the Tiki Bar are great. The restaurant was also very good with a fresh catch every night.

The service was top notch. Jonathan and Fernanda at the front desk were very attentive. I asked for an iron and I had it in less than five minutes. They even mailed me the shirt that I left in the room when I checked out.

The one downside was that you have to go back and forth to the tiki bar from the beach in order to get drinks because there is no waiter there. So bring a disposable cooler!

vegassolotraveler
5/09/2018

5 star ratingExcellent Loved this hotel. Its ocean front. Restaurant is right
In front of the ocean. Good food. The receptionist Jonathan was so friendly and efficient. Rooms are very comfortable. Its at the end of the beach making it relaxing. Will stay here every time I come to Jaco. Also reasonably priced.

Manuela B
5/03/2018

5 star ratingEn la playa Buenísimo... Y frente al mar.. sabores muy marcados... Lo de mi pareja era arroz con camarones y estaba muy bueno tambien.. la tención rápida y buena.. si lo recomiendo y la brisa del mar ufff excelente..

Mar R
4/28/2018

5 star ratingJaco Costa Rica trip April 2018 This is a lovely resort at the end of Jaco Beach-Crocs is on the other end. But this resort has the best views of the beach, surfers and of course sunset. We loved our rooms we had room 12 with a king bed and a fold out couch.Bathrooms are small but very functional with a safe in the closet. You can have meals here as well which we enjoyed if we didn't want to go into the town of Jaco. Food was very good and drinking at the tiki bar was very enjoyable.They even had the Masters golf tournament on for us. Resort is very safe with a guard on duty at the gate and you are a short taxi ride to Jaco if you want shopping or more restaurants. Jonathan was very helpful with tours and helped us arrange a nice four wheel expedition. Monica was our server for most of the week and so sweet and helpful. We met the owner (Illyana) of the resort who really prides herself in her hotel and really wants to make it a place you will want to come back each time. We would pick this place again!

Anna M
4/16/2018

5 star ratingAwesome food and cheap We stayed at Crocs rip off casino atthe ither end of Jaco. I much rather would have stsyed here. Better scene altogether hands down. 1/3 of the price as the silly casino and better atmosphere. So we walked down here to check out the surf beach and decided to pop in for lunch. I ordered Mahi and it was awesome. Lunch was so freaking cheap and good. Frozen drinks and service was awesome. We will stay here next time around

Jeff F
4/01/2018

5 star ratingParadise This resort was perfect for our first trip to Costa Rica. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. Spent every evening at the tiki bar watching the sunset. Steps from the Pacific ocean and the surfing was great.

jwdodd
3/30/2018

5 star ratingGreat family stay close to San Jose airport Enjoyed the pool, tiki bar and beach with the family. Rooms super comfortable and nice size! Safe and coffee included Clean! Nice big parking lot with security. Great service at the restaurant and nice staff.

KPinPB
3/30/2018

5 star ratingWe all loved this place We were a group of six and had three rooms. Everything here is more than fine. The beds are comfortable, the setting is quiet and the staff are friendly and very competent. For the most part they are fluent in English, at least enough to make sure you get what you want or need.The two onsite restaurants are both great and the pool and facilities are very nice. one particularly nice feature is every room has rocking chairs to relax in overlooking the ocean. All rooms are ocean front not just "ocean view". We will be back for sure.

John B
3/26/2018

5 star ratingLugar espectacular La pasamos súper bien en este Resort , ubicación excelente frente a la playa , habitaciones muy bonitas y todo súper limpio .
La comida excelente y la gente que trabaja en el hotel súper amable de verdad que se siente un ambiente súper bueno esperamos volver muy pronto .

ErickToursCR
3/22/2018

5 star ratingUnique Beach and a Relaxed Friendly Resort This resort is a great place to spend a getaway weekend , or a total week's holiday . The unique black sand beach and constant breakers rolling in make it a pleasure to walk along , swim in , or just relax and watch . The resort itself is clean and well cared for . The staff are friendly and helpful . We really enjoyed the great food , and the cold refreshing drinks prepared by the bar staff . If you are looking for a relaxing getaway from winter , this is the place to go .

Casey S
3/06/2018

5 star ratingA great day at the beach As everything in Costa Rica, the hard thing is to get there. We just spent the day at the beach, so I will not comment about the hotel accommodations. For a reasonable fee we were able to spend the day by the hotel pool, enjoy the bar, have access to clean bathrooms, towels and showers, and have easy access to the beach. Drinks by the pool were great, with an awesome view. We will certainly go back, and maybe next time spend the night.

Jordi F
2/27/2018

5 star ratingJaco Laguna - gets better every year! We stayed here last year and had a blast. We don't normally go back to the same place year on year but the vibe here was great so we came back. staff were amazing, the tiki hut and garden are right on the beach! it is a short walk on the beach to town and we liked that space. live music on Saturday. the Breakers restaurant has a killer breakfast and we have never had fruit so fresh. Henry and Monica were excellent in taking care of us. Will be back. highly recommended!

John M
2/13/2018

5 star ratingGreat place with great people We have come back to this hotel where we stay the year before. It was a great time for us with our kids and grand kid. Very nice spot for testing of long trips. For those who have no surf experience it is the place to come for learning as you have a super spot and a superbe training team. Easy to relaxe in this place as you have the site plus very nice people in the hotel always ready to help you. One open question what will be the site in coming months as around the hotel we have very visible constructions going on and the risk to see the quietness of the site affected.

Despeghel
1/03/2018

5 star ratingBest of Jaco He visitado Jaco Laguna varias veces y siempre es una experiencia excepcional. La comida y las bebidas siempre son excepcional, y los empleados son los mejores de todo Jaco. El instructor de surf, Alex, me enseñó surfear- pasó muchas horas conmigo en el agua y es un instructor maravilloso. Es un buen instructor para la gente de todas edades- jovenes y viejos de varios niveles. Recomiendo Jaco Laguna a todos que quieren un resort con servicios excepcionales y gente maravillosa.

I have visited Jaco Laguna many times and it is always such an exceptional experience. THe food and the drinks are always amazing, and the staff is even better- the best in Jaco. The surf instructor, Alex, taught me how to surf- he spent many hours with me in the water and was such a marvellous instructor. He is a wonderful instructor for people of all ages- young and old of any experience level. I would recommend Jaco Laguna to anyone who wants a resort with exceptional atmosphere and amazing staff!

Mackenzie C
1/03/2018